The Warialda Kurrajongs - who were they?

18th September 2014

At Warialda on 13 January 1916, twelve young men joined with Inverell's Kurrajongs first contingent and marched to the railway station at Kelly's Gully for their train journey to Narrabri via Moree.

The names of these men were George Arthur, William Reuben Briggs, Hector William Clarke, Clifford George Dufty, E.J. Hoyle, John Andrew Kerrigan, Aubrey William Lowe, Raymond Mitchell, Fleming Beacham O'Neill, Dennis O'Neill, Alfred Roland Smith, and Andrew James Williams. 

A few weeks later on 29th February 1916, another eleven Warialda recruits joined the second Inverell Kurrajongs. They were:- Frederick Brown, Lindsay R. Brown, William Burling, John A.H.C. Cross, Ernest Edgar Greise, Edward Thomas James Hall, Arthur William Kermond, Henry Thomas O'Neill, William Smith, Wyatt Walker and Henry Troy Weick.

Perhaps you know relatives of these men or have your own family connections.  If so please consider passing on information about, or joining in, our commemorative re-enactment march at Inverell on 10 January 2016. Photos or stories of these men would be also welcomed by our committee.

Please help us find relatives so they can be part of our re-enactment day.